Top 5 Most Anticipated TV Seasons of 2012

List of my most anticipated television seasons of 2012.

5. Dexter – Season 7

Dexter is one of those shows that has always been consistently good. It’s not my favorite show–occasionally it’s frustrating to watch due to some of the plot routes–but I always look forward to new episodes and I never cease interest in following the titular character.

I’ll avoid the major spoiler from Season 6 for those who haven’t seen it. Nonetheless, the finale took a turn I have been expecting for a few seasons now and hope it changes/refreshes the show’s dynamics in compelling ways. The show needed some invigoration before ¬†its anticipated end after Season 8.

4. Game of Thrones – Season 2

Having seen the new trailer for this season, I’m especially excited for what it holds in store. My expectations for this show are rather broad — all I know is that there’s going to be war, brutality, cruelty, sex, and a certain awesome dwarf. I’m not sure if we’ll see more from beyond the wall and if that’ll come into play, but I’m looking forward to that whenever it comes. And of course, there will be continued drama between the Starks and the Lannisters.

The women in this show are perhaps the most captivating to watch, likely due to the nature of the world and how women are treated. I’m interested in seeing Arya and Daenerys’ individual ¬†journeys as they unfold and their characters progress. I expect a lot of pity for Sansa and her time with the loathsome Joffrey.

I read the first novel and then started reading A Clash of Kings–the second novel in the series that the season will be based on–but stopped about a quarter through. I may continue, but I’m actually not a big fan of George R. R. Martin’s writing style. His plot and characters are intriguing and meticulously crafted, however, I find his pacing and flow suffer from torpor. This is resolved in the brevity enforced by television. I feel like novels translate so well into television for this reason. Films wouldn’t quite do the length justice; serialized television is just the right balance.

3. Doctor Who – Season 7

Perhaps this show is in lesser league compared to these other serialized drama behemoths, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s been equally enjoyable for me. I am really missing The Doctor and this fact alone has me desperate for the next season.

There are rumors of a new companion for the Doctor, though Amy and Rory will be returning at some capacity as well. There are also rumors of John Barrowman coming back on as a guest, which would be brilliant. I’d be great to see him and Matt Smith on screen together. I’m looking forward to seeing the romance between the Doctor and River Song further unfolding. It is perhaps one of the strangest and bewildering romances there has ever been on television, and I love it.

2. Mad Men – Season 5

We’ve just been waiting forever for this. The extended negotiations between Matthew Weiner and AMC delayed this season drastically, but at least it’s almost here. I expect some time will have passed in the narrative between seasons, as it usually does, and we’ll immediately get to see how Don’s rash decision in the season finale affects his life: for better or worse. I’m betting on the latter, because it wouldn’t be a television drama otherwise. The season starts with a much-anticipated two hour season premiere in late March.

1. Homeland – Season 2

Homeland took me by storm. It was without a doubt the best season of television in 2011, containing not only some of the most gripping and controversial themes, but powerful characters and genius writing.

The pilot episode has been one of the most keenly written since Mad Men’s pilot. The simultaneously exposition of both plot and characters unfolds so naturally and concisely yet packs in so much punch. The finale of the season is one of the most perplexing and game changing from a character perspective I have ever seen.

I have little idea what to expect from the next season, but thinking about it makes me anxious and curious in a way that I have not felt in a long time about a show, if ever.

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

